top of page

Worth The Wait

August 18th, 2021





And the waters receded continually from the earth. At the end of the hundred and fifty days the waters decreased.

~Genesis 8:3~















Noah spent long hours, weeks, months and years to build the ark for his family to reside in for safety. He obeyed the voice of God and made himself look "foolish" in the eyes of others to make sure he lived and stood by God's word. If there is anyone who knew about being patient with God's timing, it was Noah. He didn't know when the flood would arrive. He didn't know for how long. He didn't even know how it would even happen. He trusted that the warning spoken to him was sufficient enough to follow. "And God said to Noah, “The end of all flesh has come before Me, for the earth is filled with violence through them; and behold, I will destroy them with the earth. Make yourself an ark of gopherwood; make rooms in the ark, and cover it inside and outside with pitch."

(Genesis 6:13‭-‬14)

Noah heard the word and listened. He had much to figure out. What was an ark? How do I get supplies to do so? Will others believe me? God had it all prepared for Noah, all he would need is to take that step of faith; "For we walk by faith, not by sight."

(II Corinthians 5:7)

The wait was rather long and time consuming. It took sacrifice and obedience. It took trust and patience far more then we could ever imagine. Noah waited prior to the flood and Noah waited when he was officially tucked inside the ark. When the time of one hundred and fifty days were up, more time had passed. It wasn't over yet. Noah

placed his trust in God for the moment He would allow the land to be dried up; "And Noah did according to all that the Lord commanded him." (Genesis 7:5)

Noah did what he was called to do and gave the rest to God. What is it that we may be waiting for God on right now? Are we waiting for the right time to act, having the right tools to proceed, or waiting for it to be over with all together? Let us take a step back and learn from our fellow servant, Noah, realizing that sometimes God sends a promise and then has us wait for it to come to fruition; "But if we hope for what we do not see, we eagerly wait for it with perseverance."

(Romans 8:25)

Perseverance produces such strength and character within us. It tells the Lord how much we fully rely on and need Him. We do not wish to give up for it could end the way the Lord warned us about to begin with.

Can you imagine the thoughts, emotions and fatigue which filled Noah? Putting in labor to build this ark, being locked in it with tons of animals to feed and manage daily and not knowing where him and his family would end up. I am sure Noah experienced quite an emotional rollercoaster, he was human after all. However, he still followed the Lord's will.

We are meant to follow His instruction, at times it will look crazy to us and to others. "God will hear, and afflict them, Even He who abides from of old. Selah Because they do not change, Therefore they do not fear God."

(Psalms 55:19)

Noah feared God enough to make a drastic change in his life, a change that would allow him to keep said life. At the end of his time in the ark, he was able to send out a dove to receive that confirmation that it was safe to exit. As we await our own answer from God, sit and ponder in the middle of it or safely step out to walk in complete freedom; know that God is with us through each stage of each process; "Trust in the Lord forever, For in YAH, the Lord, is everlasting strength." (Isaiah 26:4)

The trust Noah placed in God was a matter of life and death. The time spent on the entire process was far beyond what we can fathom ourselves yet it was truely worth his wait.

As the waters dried up and the landscape appeared again, Noah could safely exit the ark with his family alive and safe. The Lord may call us into something quite difficult to bless us with in the end. He may have us wait for an extended period of time, I can vouch for that myself. But praise God, He never leaves our side as we wait on Him. It will always be worth it as we put our faith in Jesus Christ.








Prayer:

Gracious God, I rely on You for understanding in my walk and trust that Your word is faithful, I thank you for always doing what is for my best interest. Even when I may be told to follow a path that is difficult or time consuming I trust the ending will be worth the wait. I know You are with me every step and will never leave my side. I pray for divine patience as I may struggle emotionally to continue. I pray for peace where my mind feels chaotic. I pray for joy where sadness may creep in. Fill me Lord to the fullest so I may trust in Your ways everyday without doubting. I bless each day I am alive and give You praise for new life. It is because of You I am able to keep my head up and wait. I long for the day I can hear that voice speak "well done my good and faithful servant." Let my faith be bigger then everything I own. I receive new mercy and grace today in Your Name, King Jesus Christ. Amen.







7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page