top of page

What Do We Believe?

September 18, 2021






Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go your way; and as you have believed, so let it be done for you.” And his servant was healed that same hour. ~Matthew 8:13~













This centurion man was a man of great faith. A man who we can all learn from. He was searching for healing, not for himself but for his servant. In doing so, we can see his great compassion he also held. His servant was ill and in need and this man didn't hesitate to address Jesus for his servant. He was a man under authority and knew what that meant. When the commander speaks a word, it is certainly done. This moment the centurion man spoke to Jesus is a powerful message to all of us. He believed so much so that he knew Jesus did not even have to be in the presence of his servant to heal him. A word was all it took, paired with his great faith this man could surely be healed.

His faith so great he knew Jesus would not shut him out for being who he was. Jesus came to welcome all Gentiles.

Jesus was of course willing to come to see this servant, the man insisted He did not. Again, compassion overtook this man. He was not about to take any of Jesus' time of ministry out to come to his house. All He asked for was a blessing and a release of what He knew Jesus came to bring.

This brought our Lord to such joy; "When Jesus heard it, He marveled, and said to those who followed, “Assuredly, I say to you, I have not found such great faith, not even in Israel!" (Matthew 8:10)

How great a faith for this man to believe in the orders of our Lord Jesus Christ and act upon them. One word is all it took. His servant was healed that very hour. We are the servants of God, under the same authority that this centurion man was using. Why do we hesitate? What stops us from truely acting upon what we claim to believe?

We know that Jesus Christ is the same today as He was with this man; "Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever."

(Hebrews 13:8)

We know that what so ever we ask in His Name we can receive; "If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you."

(John 15:7)

His words must abide in us. We must really be standing under His authority. When one is assigned to a post in the military, they do not waver in using their authority. They do not question if they will receive the back up they need if they were to speak the word. They know in their heart what is contract. We are under God's contract, His Blood covenant is way stronger then any earthly contract we could be assigned under; "And I will make My covenant between Me and you, and will multiply you exceedingly.” (Genesis 17:2)

We can speak that word now with Christ's Blood covering us ans it will be done. The trick? Knowing. A true knowing and faith that will not cause us to waver in unbelief. Unbelief is very sneaky. It hides itself in places we least expect. It causes us to read the word of God yet not act in it. When problems arise we beg God for mercy rather then speaking that word He has given us to speak in authority. The promises were fulfilled through Christ. "Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful."

(Hebrews 10:23)

Its up to us to stand. The Lord says to each of us just as He spoke to the centurion man; "as we believe, so it will be done for us."

What are we believing Jesus for? Are we really in faith? Or are we in sight? Let us take notes from this centurion man's encounter with Jesus Christ, for we are all having the same encounters today with Him. Do we believe we are?





Prayer:

Heavenly Father, how great is the faith of this man who stood claiming Your authority. I give thanks for putting this down in Scripture so that I can look back and witness the faith that surpasses all things natural. I pray my own faith to increase in such a manner that speaks the word You give and know it to be done. I believe that You are the same God, You never change. Therefore, what I read about is living and active in my own life and the lives of my brethren. Praise be given to You, the One who is my authority figure. Show me in the areas of my own unbelief Lord. I pray to have these shed from my life so that I may bring joy to You when You witness my faith. I want to know You more so that Spirit is all I walk in. I want to trust You more so that others may learn how to act upon the written word. I love You Jesus and I thank You that as I speak Your word in Your Name it is done, my Authority, my Strength, Jesus Christ. Amen.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page