top of page

The Word Is Life

December 27, 2020


My son, give attention to my words; Incline your ear to my sayings. Do not let them depart from your eyes; Keep them in the midst of your heart; For they are life to those who find them, And health to all their flesh.

~Proverbs 4:20‭-‬22~





I have been sitting at home lately really gathering my thoughts, searching myself in things that need to be dealt with and a still small voice reminded me of keeping my eyes on Him and on His Word. In the midst of the struggles of this fallen world we reside in we are surrounded by a mountain of pressures by society that can tend to weigh us down. The times get tougher and the days pass along as we wait for the coming of our King. The Lord will open our eyes to things we never would imagine to see in others and in ourselves. Being shaped into the image of Christ involves a lot of crushing in our inner man. When we feel like we just have no way out or that we can't seem to understand why things are the way they are, we can go to the Word of God for any circumstance we are facing and know His word will never lie to us. Solomon tells us how the Word itself is health to our flesh. The word of God is our perscription for every condition we may feel; sickness, pain, sorrow, confusion, loneliness, anxiety and anything else you could imagine your physical and spiritual body to feel. Solomon also reminds us to not let these words God has spoken and given to us to depart from our eyes, this means we are to remain in His word daily and sometimes hourly depending on the situation we may be facing. With earthly medicine sometimes doctors will instruct a patient to take it 3 times daily. If we use the Word in this same way and we read verses out loud to ourselves until we start to feel it take effect in our bodies, we will then start to see this proverb begin to work in front of our very own eyes. The Word is life to our body, soul and spirit. "In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God." (John 1:1)

Jesus our Lord is the Word that came in the flesh. He breathed, walked, and spoke the word of God the Father whom sent Him to bring life and to set souls free. When Jesus rose again and ascended into heaven He sent us His Holy Spirit whom dwells in the midst of our heart. I find it fascinating that Solomon speaks of Jesus Christ Himself without even realizing he is doing so. As we read the promises of God we are staring into the eyes of Jesus. As we meditate on His spoken Word, we are holding His hands tight. As we are standing in faith on His truth, we are claiming our salvation and gifts that He shed His blood to give us. We are locking arms with the one true God and we are in divine health because of it. The Lord is always in control. If you start to focus on the natural too much and take your eyes off His Word of truth, you can start to feel the effects the devil has been wanting you to feel all along. Rebuke the lies of satan and focus on Jesus who is the way, the truth and the life; see John 14:6. We can give praise to the Father for supplying us with this beautiful written truth and most of all for bringing Him into this world to give Himself for us to have eternal life! For if we keep Jesus in the midst of our heart, He will be life to those who find Him and health to our flesh. For this is why He was born into this world, to shed His blood in this world; so that we may know Him and be one with Him. This is a choice we have free will to make; "I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose life, that both you and your descendants may live; that you may love the Lord your God, that you may obey His voice, and that you may cling to Him, for He is your life and the length of your days; and that you may dwell in the land which the Lord swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give them.”

(Deuteronomy 30:19‭-‬20)

Let us choose life my friends! Let us focus on His words and let them not depart from our eyes as we receive the blessings He is waiting to give us. He is always beside us and He is striving to make us stronger believers each day. Focus on the word, repeat it to yourself as many times in a day as you need to allow your faith to grow in what it needs to see the Lords blessings appear. I promise you, in His timing it will! He is faithful and true. In the meantime, do not give heed to the lies of the devil. He will always be right there waiting for a moment to hit you when you are down. Keep your eyes on the Kingdom; "Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth."

(Colossians 3:2)

For one day the earth will fade away as it is now, but the Kingdom lives forever!


Prayer:

Father God, thank you for Your Word that is living truth. Thank you that it supplies health to my flesh. I am amazed by the power of Your spoken word and the effects if brings to my body, soul and spirit. Help me to align my thoughts to You each day. Help me to remember in Your promises as I fight away the devil and his lies. I declare that I am the head and not the tail, that the Lord came to set me free and that I will be victorious in Him. Lord, shine Your light through me more today as I help to show the world what You came to do. Help me to live the gospel, not just speak it. I trust in You in each circumstance I am in good or bad, knowing that Your love grabs ahold of me tightly and no devil can snatch that away from me. I give you praise Jesus for the many blessings You give my family and I. Thank you for loving me so much and redirecting me to Your word each day. In Your most Holy Name I pray, Jesus Christ, my Way, Truth and Life. Amen.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page