top of page

The Tempter

September 2, 2021




For this reason, when I could no longer endure it, I sent to know your faith, lest by some means the tempter had tempted you, and our labor might be in vain.

~I Thessalonians 3:5~










We have joined the ranks of Jesus Christ, signing up to be built up. Battle ready and faith driven children; we are prepared to pull down strongholds, defeat every foe and declare every moment. Each time we fall is strategically placed there by the tempter, the one who waits for a weak spot to penetrate our confidence to discourage or overwhelm us as God's chosen. Of course the Lord is in charge so He allows these things to occur so that He uses it to shape us to be even stronger then we already are. Each day is filled with new mercies, some are filled with tests, trials and tribulation. This is a natural occurrence as a follower of the King of Kings. We are instantly and daily up against our greatest enemy, the tempter. He uses those moments of weakness to tempt us into believing, assuming and speaking what is opposite of God's direction; "Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour." (I Peter 5:8)

I speak from experience. Even recently. Even though I am a warrior for Christ, I have my own personal weak spots that need molding. Paul spoke of his experiences in this same manner; "Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong."

(II Corinthians 12:10)

Paul was encouraged by knowing his labor would not be in vain. He knew the One who is much Higher and Bigger then any "low" he may be stuck in for the moment. The Lord is faithful to pull us up. The tempter comes and he leaves, but he is in fact relentless and desperate. The truth needs to surpass the hidden lies. For our faith speaks into each area we struggle in and God moves in, He intervenes and He takes our shift off what is in front of us and places it on what is above us. "Therefore you shall lay up these words of mine in your heart and in your soul, and bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes."

(Deuteronomy 11:18)

Meditating on the written word of God so much that it becomes a piece of our own flesh. This is victory over the one who wastes his time tempting us. The good news, even at times when we give in, Jesus is faithful enough to help us come out of this fall. After all He knows we can do nothing apart from Him; "I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing." (John 15:5)

In order to surrender, those tests will come and be allowed as He removes those pieces of doubt left over, replacing it with increased faith and glory. When we struggle, God places other believers to encourage, pray and turn things around. When one falls the other lifts up. This is how Family works. Love truely does conquer all. The tempter knows this and uses lies to combat it. The good news? He will never win. End of story.

"For by Him all things were created that are in heaven and that are on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers. All things were created through Him and for Him."

(Colossians 1:16)

Our Father is the One who creates and He is the One who finishes. There is no other like Him. When that tempter comes, all we need to do is speak the truth at him until he flees for a season, just as Jesus Christ did in the wilderness. We must not give up for we do not labor in vain!





Prayer:

Father God, my Provider, thank you for Your true written word that is unchangable. I choose to speak life into every part of my being, refusing to let the tempter steal my joy of Heaven above. It is because of You I am blessed. It is because of You I am strong. It is because of You I am healthy. I choose life and blessing. I reject death and curse for Jesus, Your Son redeemed me of this at Calvary and I am never looking back. Help me in the areas of weakness. I gird up my loins and prepare for battle that You are fighting with me. Give me the right words to speak at the enemy when he presents his tricks. Fill me Holy Spirit with more fire to burn out my foes. I am Yours and nobody elses. I praise my God for great defeat through His amazing sacrifice and love. For love covers a multitiude and I am following that. In the Name of my Lord, my Captain, Jesus Christ. Amen.

11 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page