top of page

Sweet Sleep The Lord Promises

July 31, 2021





When you lie down, you will not be afraid; Yes, you will lie down and your sleep will be sweet.

~Proverbs 3:24~













As I begin to start another sabbatical for a filling of my cup; I find myself yawning and ready to lay down, to just curl up with the Lord and sleep. The Lord has promised our sleep to be oh so sweet. Our bodies grow weary from the work we are called to do and our vessels need rest; "Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?" (I Corinthians 6:19)

When we lack proper rest we do no good for others or for ourselves.

Even Jesus Himself needed that sweet sleep from ministry work; "And suddenly a great tempest arose on the sea, so that the boat was covered with the waves. But He was asleep." (Matthew 8:24)

Sometimes, even though we may be in the midst of chaos or work is piling up God is telling us "its time to just take a nap." We can only push our physical man or woman so far before we crash. Jesus knew this, so should we. Let us enjoy that sweet sleep God has given to each of us. We tend to have a hard time accepting rest when its in our nature to keep going. God is saying "sleep my child." Sleep for a body does more good then we even understand. Scientifically speaking, it provides an immunity booster, lowers risk of other diseases, reduces stress. Improves mood, gives us better clarity of mind and is even good for our skin! There are major physical benefits to our sleep and there are spiritual benefits to it as well. Our armor begins to fasten tighter, we have fresh oil in our lamps and we are ready for the next phase feeling recharged. "Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me." (Psalms 51:10)

Our spirit longs for that renewel. Our body cries out for Gods sweet rest and it is important we listen when it does. The provision of God includes the sleep he brings us each day, He Himself needed it when He came to flesh. We can receive and praise Him as we sleep peacefully with Him. Are you feeling like me right now, longing for a good amount of rest? Jesus freely gives to all of His own; "Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest."

(Matthew 11:28)

It is God's way of telling us to slow down, take a break and give all of our cares to Him as we recharge our batteries. I suggest taking those moments of rest very seriously as the Lord Himself does so. We surely cannot poor from an empty cup. Whether we are ministering, working our 9 to 5 job or raising children; we are all in equal need of that sweet sleep that will cause us to lie down and not be afraid to. "It is vain for you to rise up early, To sit up late, To eat the bread of sorrows; For so He gives His beloved sleep."

(Psalms 127:2)

Consider it just another gift from God that is so good to us! Just as a mother rocks her child to sleep on her shoulder or nuzzled up to her breast, so does our nurturing Father God do to us when He notices we need that extra push to shut our eyes. The peace will fill us, the Lord will be with us and our bodies, minds, spirits and souls will be stronger for doing so. Physically, emotionally and spiritually we will be energized and healthy. Are we ready to let our bodies rest? Are we receiving His sweet sleep without resistance? I bless all of your sleep from here on out, praising the Lord God Almighty for the ability to lay down shut our eyes and disconnect for a bit. When we do He is pleased. Let the filling begin! Sleep tight!






Prayer:

Heavenly Father, thank you from the bottom of my heart for the gift of sweet sleep. Our bodies created by You were made for times of rest. I pray continued guidance as I listen to Your need for me to sleep and recharge. I bless my sleep tonight and every night after in Jesus Name, speaking the promises of God's word which says I will lie down and I will not be afraid, for my sleep will be sweet. Praise be to You who came to serve and even You slept through major storms as You knew rest was most important. Fill my cup Lord and give me a word of knowledge in moving forward. Let Your Name only be glorified in it; my Lord and my Savior, Jesus Christ. Amen.



15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to...

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last,...

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed...

1 Comment


Natasha Standish
Natasha Standish
Aug 02, 2021

Amen. I receive the sweet sleep. I find rest in You and only You Jesus! Thank You.

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page