top of page

Such A Closeness

August 26, 2021





One is so near another That no air can come between them

~Job 41:16~













Following the Lord has been the most beautiful gift I have ever received in my life. To understand the intent of my being here was just for this, to seek Him and find Him. A closeness to God. A still feeling in my heart as I think about Jesus. Each day has added to that closeness in our relationship, but it doesn't come at a low cost. There has been much I have had to give up to follow the Lord on this journey and I wouldn't change it for a bit. In fact, I crave more. What else can I do now Lord, to grow even closer to You? How can I be so close that even air cannot come between us? "My soul follows close behind You; Your right hand upholds me."

(Psalms 63:8)

There is not a day I wake up or lay my head down at night that the Lord is not always on my mind. When He becomes that first love, there is truely nothing that can come between. God longs for us even more then we long for Him, can you just think about that for a moment? This is incredible to me!

All too often I hear from others how I have such a "special closeness" to Jesus. This is simply saddening to me. Don't get me wrong I am very close yes, I do feel blessed in this. However, the Lord does not pick and choose and I am not special. The relationship I have built with Jesus can be the same for you and Him as well. He wants a closeness to all of His children. This is why He came and gave His life of course, for all of us; "Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends." (John 15:13)

The Lord laid His life down and now asks us to give ourselves to Him with everything we have. The more we give to Him the closer we become, just like with any relationship.

"Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, And put your trust in the Lord."

(Psalms 4:5)

What kind of sacrifices does the Lord ask of us? For one we need to be willing to walk in His will, not our own; "For whoever does the will of God is My brother and My sister and mother.” (Mark 3:35)

We need to be ready to ask each day, "what is it that You want me to do today Lord?"

We should be ready to lose things to follow Him; "If anyone comes to Me and does not hate his father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters, yes, and his own life also, he cannot be My disciple."

(Luke 14:26)

We should be ready to give and give freely and joyfully; "But do not forget to do good and to share, for with such sacrifices God is well pleased." (Hebrews 13:16)

We should be willing to speak up about the hope that is in us; "Let the redeemed of the Lord say so, Whom He has redeemed from the hand of the enemy." (Psalms 107:2)

Let us not be afraid or hesitant to speak of our first love. In the world we would be quick to talk someones ear off over someone we fell in love with. That closeness to our heart that brings us to tremble at the thought of Him. A kind that is with us for all eternity, one that can never die.

"Love never fails. But whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away."

(I Corinthians 13:8)

The physical things will eventually cease, but the love of God is forever. Let us take more time to meditate in His presence alone; to pray more and dive deeper into His word so that we may know Him, feel Him and have such a closeness to Him that will fill our hearts overflowing. There is nothing greater then this. Before we know it we will not even be able to breathe in without breathing Him in as there will be truely no air separating us from Him.





Prayer:

Lord God, thank you for loving me so much and desiring to be so close to me. I hunger for more of You, please show me where I need to give more of myself so that I may be so close to You that no air comes between us. I want my heart to be filled with Heaven. Thank you for this day that You have given me. Lead me in the ways of righteousness and use me to speak, give and pray. I am Your vessel. May all glory, honor and praise be given to You for the love that comes off me. I could not feel this way without You.

In Your Name which is dear to my heart, Jesus Christ. Amen.

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page