top of page

Short Stature, Tall Faith

December 28, 2020


Moreover David said, “The Lord , who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear, He will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” And Saul said to David, “Go, and the Lord be with you!”

~I Samuel 17:37~




I can recall a moment when I witnessed the attitude of a chihuahua dog barking and standing its ground against a large pit bull dog. I thought to myself, "what exactly does this dog think it's going to do?" As I watched the fearlessness in this small pup I then began to think how brave it truely was. How much faith it held. This reminds me of the story of David and Goliath. When we focus on David, the annointed man of God chosen to be King, the man after God's own heart who wasnt afraid to be brutally honest about his feelings; we know where he began his journey as a small shepherd boy working for his family tending to the flock. David was a simple boy, small in stature with a destiny he did not yet understand. As he was instructed to bring supplies up to his brothers at the camp, David found himself in an interesting situation. As he witnessed the words of this large Philistine man, Goliath; "If he is able to fight with me and kill me, then we will be your servants. But if I prevail against him and kill him, then you shall be our servants and serve us.” Goliath was snarky and overly confident because of his strength and large stature. Little did he know a boy led by the power of God Himself was about to take him up on his offer and end his life. David's faith in God was so large that no man was about to stop him, just like the chihuahua's faith in defeating that large pit bull. If your faith is large enough it can be a matter of life and death. David knew how strong God was and that his strength would not come directly from himself, it would be God's will to defeat this man who was challenging His army. "But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him." (Hebrews 11:6)

David was pleasing to the Father as he trusted that God would reward him if it be His will. David witnessed the glory of the Lord shepherding his flock as he ripped lambs out of the mouth of lions and bears. He saw Goliath no different.

The rest of his people let their lack of belief frighten them away as they heard Goliath speak, they focused on what was in front of them. They forgot how big God is. We can take on David's bravery in our own way today with whatever mountain may be in front of us, as the words of Jesus Himself speak; "So Jesus said to them, “Because of your unbelief; for assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you." (Matthew 17:20)

If not for a shepherd boy small in stature with a tall faith in his God, we may not have this amazing story of courage, fearlessness and hope to hold on to today; and who knows what Goliath may have done. God gave David the power he needed to defeat his foe, to move his mountain. He was faithful to His servant as David was faithful to Him. We have this same promise today. The more we rely on the strength of the Lord, knowing that our situations, no matter how big are against us; we can prevail with His divine help using our faith; "The Lord is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?" (Psalms 118:6) Written by David to remind us of this very moment the Father was truely on his side. When God is for us, who can be against us? If you feel yourself facing a large beast trying to steal your confidence or steal your faith in God, remember these words of David in another personal favorite Psalm; "I will say of the Lord , “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.” (Psalms 91:2)

God's faithfulness is everlasting, so shall ours be to Him. Jesus is the reason we live and gain access to God boldly. Whenever we confide in the Lord for help, He is faithful to supply us with our need according to His riches in glory, just as He supplied David in that moment he defeated Goliath with a single stone. All it takes is your faith in God to make big moments happen! So it really does not matter how small something is, if the faith that lives inside of it is big enough it may just rip that large being apart. The next time I witness a small animal coming against a large one, I will not judge it according to its stature but according to the faith it carries.

So Jesus answered and said to them, “Have faith in God." (Mark 11:22)

He is bigger then any circumstance that may come your way. Trust in Him, He is always there for you! "Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ." (Romans 5:1)

Thanks be to God for His strength, peace and joy that flows through our spirits today giving us confidence in the glory of Jesus Christ.


Prayer:

Heavenly Father, thank you for the faith that causes mountains to move. Thank you for sharing Your power with those of whom trust and are faithful to You. Show me how to use my faith as David did. Open my ears and eyes to further gain access to the abilities You have for me. Thank you for the many gifts you have blessed me with in this life and for allowing me to know that You love me and are for me, therefore no man can be against me. Let Your will be done, Lord. Let my calling be fulfilled how You desire. I am fully Yours and I am forever greatful for the lessons You bring me each day in understanding and leaning heavier on You. Apart from You Jesus, I can do nothing. With You, I can do all things. I praise You for this love that words cannot describe. Lead me today Lord in faith as David carried. Help remind me in my struggles. In Your strong Name I pray, Jesus Christ my Rock. Amen.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page