top of page

Poured Out

Updated: Jan 8, 2021

January 4, 2021


For I will pour water on him who is thirsty, And floods on the dry ground; I will pour My Spirit on your descendants, And My blessing on your offspring;

~Isaiah 44:3~






There has been many verses in the bible that refers to God pouring His Spirit on His people. This kind of image is pretty neat to me. As I think about something being poured on, I can envision how that may look if we could see it actually happening in front of us; like a stack of pancakes waiting for their syrup, or a fresh roasted turkey waiting for its gravy or a glass of water waiting to be filled. To some people, they can live without syrup on their pancakes or gravy on their turkey, however, water none of us can live without. It is needed. So here in this verse we see how God promises to provide that to us so we do not go thirsty. Jesus is that provision, we need Him. Jesus explains how His water is living water to the Samaritan woman; "but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.”

(John 4:14)

Without His water being poured on us, we will be constantly in need of more. The same goes for His Spirit. Without the Holy Spirit being poured on us we would be lost, confused and working according to our own flesh. This happens without receiving Jesus as Lord. It also can dry out as well, causing a drought in our bodies. When we are not searching for more of the Lord, asking the Holy Spirit each day for guidance and listening for the steps to take we may end up in a drought of our own and need the outpouring of His Spirit. The good news is we can always ask for more! Just like with gravy or syrup; "If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him!”

(Luke 11:13)

The Father is waiting for your willingness to receive and to use the gifts of the Spirit in a the way He originally designed you to use them. Some things take time. Some things happen drastically. We can't wonder why some have this or that and we are still waiting for our pouring. We must go to God and ask Him. We must use our hearts. The "pouring" also reminds us that Jesus is above us all, we are not above Him at any moment. In order to pour a glass of water we must be hovering above it. We must know that the glass is ready for the water, that the cup is grasped tightly so it does not fall. We must give thanks to the One who pours and use that gift in whichever way He wants us to. The promise God gives us is still available to all of us. Are we a "cup half empty christian", or a "cup half full christian." Are we thinking that what we have is plenty or that we always crave more of His Spirit? As we abide in Jesus we feel who He is, what He can do and how He can use us and naturally we will want more. If we choose to sit back and not put our effort into abiding in Him or growing our relationship intimately, we will think that what we have on our own is plenty. God says He will bless our offspring. If we choose to truely follow Him, it can affect our children and our children's children in a powerful way. God's word is His bond. He means what He says and He says what He means. If there is anything this country needs right now it is an outpouring of the Holy Spirit. If we all come together to the Father and pray for this, He is faithful to hear us and give to us. We can't afford to let the churches go into a drought. We can't afford anymore lukewarm churches. Jesus is looking for His Body that is always looking for more of Him and less of ourselves. Paul urged us of this himself; "Imitate me, just as I also imitate Christ."

(I Corinthians 11:1)

Jesus was filled with the Spirit of God and able to show and teach the gospel; "how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and with power, who went about doing good and healing all who were oppressed by the devil, for God was with Him." (Acts 10:38)

When Jesus told the disciples that He was going to be with the Father, He promised to send His Spirit afterward and then we are to go out and do as He did. If we are not asking for the outpouring of His Spirit how can we go out into the world and do as He did? "And these signs will follow those who believe: In My name they will cast out demons; they will speak with new tongues; they will take up serpents; and if they drink anything deadly, it will by no means hurt them; they will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover.”

(Mark 16:17‭-‬18)

Jesus says this before He ascends to be with the Father, He knows we will need His Spirit in order to do so.

Let us ask generously for His Spirit and ask to recieve the spiritual gifts He has for each and everyone of us. If we go about trying to make our own gifts and do our own thing, God will not be in it; "“For My people have committed two evils: They have forsaken Me, the fountain of living waters, And hewn themselves cisterns—broken cisterns that can hold no water." (Jeremiah 2:13)

We see what happens when people try to fill their own glasses.

When we have God with us we are capable of feeling the push to do what He asks us. Keep in mind, the devil is sneaky and will attempt to make you think God wants you to do something when in fact He does not. We need to discern the difference between Jesus led or devil fed. Pray without ceasing for understanding. He is faithful and He is waiting for willing children to live for Him and produce living waters from ourselves just as Jesus spoke of us; "He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.” (John 7:38)

My friends, let us take a step back, pray for patience and understanding and ask the Lord for that sweet outpouring so we can help the world see His glory.


Prayer:

Gracious God, thank you for the gift of Your Holy Spirit. Thank you for Your giving heart, for loving me enough to guide me all the way through life. I ask to receive the outpouring of Your Spirit, Lord, so I can use the gifts You have chosen for me for Your glory. Show me how I can thrive and produce Your living water in me. I long for more of You and less of me. I pray for discernment to fill me so I can determine when I am being led Your way or led astray. Father guide me, Your child in this wilderness, for without Your Spirit I feel lost. May the praise and honor be to You as I follow You. I want to be useful for the kingdom each day. I am grateful to have this chance to drink from Your fountain of living water. I receive it and rejoice in it. I pray this in Your precious Name, Jesus Christ. Amen.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page