top of page

Poor In Spirit, Rich In Heaven

July 30, 2021




“Blessed are the poor in spirit, For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

~Matthew 5:3~














Spiritual fatigue, weakness, pain or suffering will drive one to feel more as though they are just cursed or incomplete. Jesus says for those who are poor in spirit, they are blessed. For the Kingdom of heaven is theirs. What does it mean to be poor in spirit? Spiritual poverty requires giving up all we have for Christ, for this reason Jesus says; "He who finds his life will lose it, and he who loses his life for My sake will find it."

(Matthew 10:39)

Are we willing to be spiritually poor for Jesus Christ? It takes a lot out of us at times but blessed are we who endure to the end, says the Lord. When we find ourselves having all we need in life, we become caught up in the riches that end up supplying us nothing internally aside for the want for "more things." As we desire nothing more then Jesus Christ Himself, we become satisfied with knowing our riches lie in heaven.

"but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal."

(Matthew 6:20)

There may be times when we suffer spiritually for the work we do for the Lord but praise be to God who rewards His children mightily as we obey His word! Blessed are we! If you are finding yourself seemingly losing things, going through trials or calling out to the Lord for His help; you may consider yourself poor in spirit. This is not a bad thing. This is a beautiful thing. We can celebrate it now as we wade through the muddy waters on our way to our destiny. The Lord has wonderful things ahead for those who give all they have for Him and for His children. When we are following in His footsteps as a servant for God Almighty, blessed are we! "Will you set your eyes on that which is not? For riches certainly make themselves wings; They fly away like an eagle toward heaven."

(Proverbs 23:5)

For the body dies, yet the spirit lives on. Where do we want it to live on? We spoke about hell yesterday, remember? Spiritual poverty leads us to true love and light. Jesus gave these Beatitudes on the Mount almost has another set of spiritual law. The Beatitudes are the spiritual blueprints for our reconstruction and restoration. It is speaking of an attitude, which we should hold regarding ourselves. Are we considering ourselves "all set," or are we continually emptying ourselves of our own desires to be completely available to the Lord above? Being poor means being content with what so ever God supplies to us in the moment. Are we poor in spirit? I urge my brothers and sisters to not be discouraged if you are, for the Kingdom of heaven is yours. If you are not, I recommend praying for the Lord to empty out whatever is holding you hostage to material, worldly, and temporary possessions. God is looking for humble and meek children who are willing to give their whole self for His Son, for He will be plenty enough for us as we consider ourselves poor in spirit.







Prayer:

Lord Jesus, thank you for Your beautiful teaching on the mount as a guide to how my attitude for the Kingdom should be. Lord I know as I suffer in spirit and lose myself, i gain more of You. This is what I hunger for. I need You and I love you. I pray for a complete alignment mind, body, soul and spirit to God in heaven. I strive to do as You will. Thank you for this lovely day You gave Yourself to supply to me. I plead the Blood of the Lamb over me and my family as I walk in Spirit and Truth declaring the real riches that await us in heaven. Use me to speak that word to those who are caught up in treasures that cannot benefit their spirits. Glory, honor and praise to my King! Jesus Christ I pray and receive Your blessings. Amen.

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page