top of page

Our Spirits Grow Strong

August 24, 2021





Therefore we do not lose heart. Even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day.

~II Corinthians 4:16~











How often do we attempt to focus on our physical body more then anything? We try intensive work outs. We diet or abstain from certain foods. We over work in day to day jobs. What ever it is we choose to do in order to strengthen our body making it physically fit or healthy. As humans we keep our eyes too zoned into our physical man that we lose track of our spiritual man rather quickly. Paul reminds us in this scripture that our outward man will perish. It is a fact that all of us will one day pass away from our bodies. The question is, where will our spirit live on? As we choose to follow the Lord we renew our mind, our soul, our body and our spirit in Him. Our spirit man is being strengthened the closer we abide in Him each day. For when our spirit is weak and frail, or abstaining from proper food we will surely feel the effects of it in our outward man.

"It is the Spirit who gives life; the flesh profits nothing. The words that I speak to you are spirit, and they are life."

(John 6:63)

The Lord's word is life to our spirit. He has made a way for us to live for eternity. The body will perish but the spirit follows the master it chooses. Some of us are feeling very discouraged, dreary and worn out in our bodies. Perhaps the Lord is telling us to slow down and receive strength from within. The word of God is food to our beings, it is energy and it is life. We need the proper strength to walk in God's will. Are we focusing more on the body then we are on our spirits?

"For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh."

(II Corinthians 10:3)

Just as one would see a doctor to get a yearly physical to test the things which are unseen, God is wanting His children to test the spiritual matters in our lives which are unseen. We do not war according to our bodies. When we lose our life in the body we gain life in heaven. Paul is praising, warning and revealing where that inner strength really resides in this one verse. We must make sure what we are doing is not harming our bodies as God's vessel. We must allow that renewal each day in our spirit man so that we may truely feel it as we arise each day. Even as we may be physically tired, the spirit grows stronger! I dont know about you but strength is always at the top of my prayer list for a personal preference and for very good reason. Without Christ's strength from within I am useless on the outside to everyone accept maybe myself and I am not in ministry for myself. I urge us to search our hearts, test our spirits and ask Jesus where we need to slow down physically and strengthen spiritually. Sometimes our body will cry out when it is hungry for something we cannot see; "There He makes the hungry dwell, That they may establish a city for a dwelling place." (Psalms 107:36)

God has a special dwelling place for us to rest with Him, we can praise Him as we renew our spirit each day in the strength of Holy Spirit within. It is time to ask the Lord for a spiritual exam and to receive the proper "medicine" to gain the right strength. It is only by Him that we are capable of pressing forward physically.




Prayer:

Heavenly Father, I am so thankful for the spiritual strength You have provided me with each day to walk in Your will. I long for renewal in my spirit man/woman so that when I perish I am right where I need to be. I know that my spirit can effect my body and I want to be completely aligned, for I know that when something is off kilter it is in danger of falling all together. Lord, teach me how to receive Your divine strength to fulfill Your divine calling in my life. I pray to never anoint myself but to wait upon You. I praise and honor the King who has given me a way to eternal life in Heaven. Though my outward body is perishing, my spirit lives on. Help me to be renewed where I need it most Father. Your ways are always best. Show me in the areas I am not listening so I may listen and become stronger. I need You in all things. Guide me in that spiritual strength Holy Spirit. I receive it today in Jesus Holy Name. Amen.

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page