top of page

Let Us Not Be Disqualified

October 14, 2021





But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.

~1 Corinthians 9:27~












I always enjoyed the way Paul preached. He was a realist who never claimed to be something he was not. He openly admitted to the churches that he was the chief sinner of all; "The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost." (1 Timothy 1:15).

Paul lived out the rest of his life showing deep gratitude for how he was redeemed from his path to hell. Jesus saw something in Paul that he did not even see in himself.

He chose him and He also chooses us.

We are here for a destiny to carry out the fight Jesus fulfilled at Calvary.

We are in it for faith in our Father, our Gracious Creator. I love how Paul used this analogy of running a race in comparison to fighting the good fight of faith. Each day we feel as though we are running wild, dont we? We study, we train, we prepare and we get ready for what is ahead in each moment.

A lot of people are feeling overwhelmed right now trying to tackle many things at once.

Their race is becoming too much for them.

The good news about living in this world as a believer in Jesus Christ is that we are not left to train, prepare or study alone. He is our Coach.

He waits beside us as we wake up each morning, with a smile on His face He is ready to get us to the track. "It's time to run the race again," He says, as He packs up our equipment, makes sure the weather is in good condition and our body is nourished properly. He is a Good Coach indeed.

"With upright heart he shepherded them and guided them with his skillful hand."

(Psalm 78:72)

In order for someone to run a race the way the coach trains them to, they must trust in their coach. They must listen to instruction and they must not go against the tactics they have been taught.

Are we fully trusting in our Coach? Is there a piece hanging on to us that is attempting to run the race on our own strength rather then the strength supplied to us? Paul never tried to do it in his own strength. You could say he ran on a track with many road blocks, hills, valleys and even large branches set in place to cause a fall. "Three times I was beaten with rods. Once I was stoned. Three times I was shipwrecked; a night and a day I was adrift at sea; on frequent journeys, in danger from rivers, danger from robbers, danger from my own people, danger from Gentiles, danger in the city, danger in the wilderness, danger at sea, danger from false brothers; in toil and hardship, through many a sleepless night, in hunger and thirst, often without food, in cold and exposure." (2 Corinthians 11:25‭-‬27)

No matter what trial or tribulation came to stop Paul, he pressed on and he kept running. He did not let his circumstance stop his calling and His vow to Jesus. Now most would look up to Paul, striving to be like his character yet this is not the right attitude to have. Even though he is our brother and we can envy his obedience to the Spirit of God, he did not mirror himself in this race. He aligned to the image of Jesus Christ.

Jesus pressed on in the most difficult race of all only to be murdered by His own. He never let His circumstance stop His love for us.

So it is to Christ whom we look up to. It is to Christ we vow to follow. It is Him who

hands over the crown in the end of the race.

Are we truely running the race with our whole heart for the Lord, or is there still something holding us back in fear, nervousness, doubt or pleasing of others? Let us ask the same Spirit of God that gave Paul guidance and agility, to create in us a clean heart so that we may not be disqualified from the prize once we hit the finish line. Let our race bring glory to our Coach as He trains us up and supplies us with all that we need to get there. "But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires." (Romans 13:14)

We can't let scary trials stop us; we live in a world filled with uncertainty, yet Jesus remains certain.

We can't allow other people's responses to our calling determine if we keep going or not; for people will talk regardless, the enemy will use them as vessels of slander, yet Jesus made our destiny and calls us to keep going for Him and to pray for them as we do.

We can't let discouragement bog us down, for the very Spirit of God Himself is within us willing to supply us with all the riches and glory in His Son to get through the fire in front of us.

It is time we let our words of love for Jesus match our walk day by day as we openly die to our flesh like we are instructed to do. If our brother Paul did so, we can too. Walk in the Spirit and satisfy only which is God's, when we can commit in this way, we will stay on the track in full power striving for the prize Jesus, our Coach, has to offer us.




Prayer:

Father God Almighty, I want to thank you for sending Your Son to win the battle for me. I know that my journey isn't over until I take my last breath, and until I do I strive to look to the Leader, my Coach, for all instruction and provision as I run this race. Let me not live in a manner that would disqualify me from the prize of the crown. Truely remove any wicked way in me, Lord. Show me the areas I am lacking trust in You. Thank you for calling me, for choosing me and for redeeming me from the pits of hell. You are my hope and my Rock. Without You, I would never be able to run. I have no strength in my own flesh but only that which You supply to me. I trust that as thy days are, so is thy strength. Teach me Lord. Guide me on the track. Let me not get distracted, confused, tired or hurt. I surrender to Your instructions and I die to my flesh today as I commit my ways to You. May all that I run in be for Your glory and honor. In the Precious Name of Jesus Christ, I pray. Amen.

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page