top of page

Let The Lord Lead

August 31, 2021




My voice You shall hear in the morning, O Lord; In the morning I will direct it to You, And I will look up.

~Psalms 5:3~











That still small voice that draws near as I reach out for what His words are for the day. The Spirit of God sending a charge through my body followed with a beautiful peace, He speaks; "Don't look down, trust in the steps I have you take." I went into a vision of walking on a pathway and found that in this vision I began to look down watching my feet so as not to trip. A sense of wanting control I felt rushing through my mind. The Lord is addressing our need to control every step we take. Even the smallest of things we tend to just jump on without praying about them. We feel we can make good decisions here and there and leave the rest to Jesus. The problem is even with the minor decisions we can steer ourselves away from the Lord's path. We have a tendancy to want some form of control, dont we? Even Eve was eager take control of her situation; "So when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, that it was pleasant to the eyes, and a tree desirable to make one wise, she took of its fruit and ate. She also gave to her husband with her, and he ate."

(Genesis 3:6)

A decision made that she thought "looked good" that ended up causing her to fall.

The fall of man brought on by a need to control and disobey. How many things are we stepping into without confirming they are good by the Lord or good by our own eyes? As we focus our eyes on where we want our feet to go rather then trusting in where the Lord is planting our feet; we may end up out of His will completely. We may end up avoiding cracks strategically placed there to get us to trip for a reason of growth. We may end up taking our eyes off Jesus all together because we are too busy focused on what we want.

"Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding."

(Proverbs 3:5)

Most of us are too caught up in leaning on ourselves rather then looking up to Jesus for His guidance. Some of which we do in avoidance of being uncomfortable. I am going to be completely honest, following Jesus will be uncomfortable at times; the journey will cause us to trip, to lose our own reputations and to obey to the point of complete death of the flesh. None of these things are comfortable but they are best and they are blessed. As we wake up each morning, who or what are we going to first? Is it our phone? Is it our coffee? Is it the Lord? Who is taking charge of our lives? Is it Jesus? The Lord is reaching out to us, urging that we may avoid looking down at our feet as we walk. He is wanting to be the One to direct our steps and see our eyes focused on Him as we take this journey following Him. We cannot follow someone when we are too busy looking down. If we were to go on a walk with our spouse, would it be enjoyable company watching someone stare at their feet the whole time? The Lord is saying "Look at me, let me lead you." We can trust Him my friends. It will not be easy, it will not be certain where we are going, but it will be worth it in the end. He will not lead us anywhere that leads to death.

This is something we can only lead ourselves to, just like Adam and Eve did.

"Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it." (Matthew 7:14)

Let us take our eyes off what we believe we should do and begin to look up, asking the Lord what it is He needs us to do and where He wants us to go; trusting in His direction every step of the way. "Uphold my steps in Your paths, That my footsteps may not slip."

(Psalms 17:5)






Prayer:

Oh Lord my God, thank you for Your guidance and for Your patience with me. As I begin to take control of my own life or make decisions that are of my own desires please help me to be instantly convicted so I may take my eyes off myself. I want to focus on You alone and the path You lead me on. I trust in You Lord. Show me the areas where I may not be giving You control. Help me to stay following You. I am weak and need Your voice directing me. You know the best way for me. I bless what You have for me and I praise You for an abundance of provision and knowledge as I become closer to You. Increase my sensitivity to Holy Spirit, remove any wicked way in me and show me how to walk in spirit each day. May it all be for the glory of God that I do these things. Today I choose to take my eyes off my own feet and trust where You are taking me. In Your Name I pray and receive divine instruction, Jesus Christ. Amen.

12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page