top of page

Human Thoughts Vs. GOD

December 29, 2020


“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord . “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts.

~Isaiah 55:8‭-‬9~





Living as humans we tend to want to figure everything out or have an answer to things right away. This is just the nature we are born into. If we take a look at the world around us we can notice a rise in anxiety levels, depression and fear. Now most would think this is due to rational thinking or logical reasoning because of things happening in the news or in the nation as a whole or even something personal in their life. The real issue we tend to not grasp is the idea that we just cannot and will not have all the answers. The honest truth is we will never know everything and we can live to the very end of our life still learning new concepts or ideas. Now we can all agree how good our God is! Jesus Himself speaks of this; " So Jesus said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good but One, that is, God." (Mark 10:18)

We can agree that He is in control and wants what is best for us. The best part about this verse Isaiah recites as He heard the Father speak to Him is that we have a promise of this very thing we always tend to beat ourselves over the head with; we will never understand most things and we don't have to! I understand life hits us with curve balls and we get confused at times, "Why is this happening to me right now?" "Have I done something wrong to deserve this?" The shortest answer I, as a human, can give you is; "I'm sorry I don't have all the answers." As for a spiritual answer it's as simple as this very verse up top; "His thoughts are not our thoughts and His ways are not our ways." God is a powerful deity sitting on a mountainous throne overlooking the entire world in which He created, listening to billions of prayers by the second. I know, it hurts my brain to fathom that too. Do you see what I mean? We could not possibly understand His ways or answers to our problems. This is why when we choose to try we wind up spiritually anxious, depressed or afraid. Our brains are not equipped with God's pure knowledge. It is not our job to know it all. Its the Lord's. How blessed are we that we can lean on Him and trust His ways, never having to figure everything out. Jesus gives us a clear warning to not worry in life; "Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?" (Matthew 6:25)

If we sweat over the things we will never actually understand, we may end up missing out on the blessing right in front of us. If we try to understand something God is not ready for us to or something He doesnt want us to know at all, we can end up causing damage to our own bodies as we stress out when Jesus calls us to just trust Him to take the reins; "Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding." (Proverbs 3:5)

What better of a King then One to take control of so much for us that we not need to worry, fear or wonder. Now I am not saying it will be an easy ride to lean on someone you cannot physically see, however, it will give you true genuine peace when you choose to do so; " Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid." (John 14:27)

The world always pressures people to look for an answer, God's kingdom does not expect you to. The Lord is alive and He is watching us, nothing suprises Him of course. He longs to take that full control of your life, but He does not force Himself on you. That's something satan will do. Our enemy loves to cause you to second guess, question everything and trust in your own way. The devil can sit back and laugh as he watches God's children spiritually starved, fearful and crippled in anxious thoughts. When we lean on this promise of God's sovereignty and faithfulness, we can let go of our concerns to know it all. We can say: "It's okay that I dont understand why this is taking place, but I trust in You Lord that you will work it out for good." What the devil meant for evil, God means for good. "And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose." (Romans 8:28) It is a matter of trust. A matter of letting go of wanting control. A matter of resting in Him and being patient. Jesus Himself waited thirty years patiently to become exalted, and He is the Son of God who suffered horribly on a cross for us to be saved. Here we are worrying about every answer or understanding and Jesus is asking us to let go of it and let Him help us, as if He didn't do enough for us as it is. Let us rejoice in the misunderstanding, realizing that it is such a gift beyond measure to not have to know it all. Someone loves us so deeply that they want to know it all for us! Glory to God! If you are in a suffering, confusing or scary period of life right now my friends; know that God is in control and He knows your end before your beginning. There is nothing too much for Him to handle and there is no love greater then His for you. Smile and thank the Lord for not knowing all the answers, because even if you somehow did it may end up driving you just as crazy, if not more!




Prayer:

Gracious Father in heaven, thank you so much that I do not have all the answers. Thank you for being so far above me that You are in total control of every aspect of my life, good or bad. I know nothing goes past You without permission and I know You are using everything that feels confusing for my blessing in the end. Lord, help to focus on trusting in Your ways, not my own. I praise You that I do not have to have all the answers, that I can live the life You gave me in peace. Thank you for loving me so much Jesus, especially when I didn't deserve it. Whenever I become stubborn or ungrateful please nudge me back on Your path so I can flourish in Your plans for my life. I trust in You and I want to bring You the glory. It is in Your Name I pray, Jesus Christ. Amen.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page