top of page

Hold On To Your Hope

December 26, 2020


For we were saved in this hope, but hope that is seen is not hope; for why does one still hope for what he sees?

~Romans 8:24~





For many years the Israelites were in a waiting period. They were promised a Messiah to come and save them from their sins. In the long process of their wait, they held on to hope. We have perfect explanation of what hope is defined as in the word of God, which we all know is truth that is unchangeable. Hope is something that is not seen. It is belief that one day you will see it and the Fathers promise will be fulfilled. When we hold onto our hope we are walking in faith, not in sight; see 2 Corinthians 5:7. When we walk by faith we are able to align our hearts with the word of God and stand firm on His promises. When the promise of the Redeemer had come the people were overjoyed; "Then the multitudes who went before and those who followed cried out, saying: “Hosanna to the Son of David! ‘Blessed is He who comes in the name of the Lord !’ Hosanna in the highest!”

(Matthew 21:9)

They were looking right at the hope that lived inside them for years. We as believers in Jesus hold on to that same hope that one day He will return; "when He comes, in that Day, to be glorified in His saints and to be admired among all those who believe, because our testimony among you was believed." (II Thessalonians 1:10)

We can rejoice in the fact that Jesus already came and saved us. He never lies and He never fails us. We know whatever is spoken of by God will be done. The Lord will return and glorify Himself and the hope we each deside to hold on to will be seen. Let us remind ourselves of this and give praise as we wait just as the Israelites were doing; "And now, Lord, what do I wait for? My hope is in You."

(Psalms 39:7)

If we do not focus on the promises of God and remember how He fulfilled each one He ever spoke we become hopeless which will make ourselves faithless; "Hope deferred makes the heart sick, But when the desire comes, it is a tree of life." (Proverbs 13:12)

We are to make sure our heart is whole in Jesus. We must fully keep our eyes on Him. Everything He says, He does and will do. Whenever you are feeling down or confused about why things just keep getting worse and worse. Hold on to the hope that the Lord is still at work and He will be back to finish everything once and for all. Lets be thankful we live in a time such as this, making history and trusting in God. We are blessed to be alive by the grace of God. Sometimes I understand its easier said then done to hope in moments when everything seems so crazy or scary. When we keep our eyes on Jesus we focus on the true character of who He is and we begin to imitate Him in our own lives. The more we abide in the Lord the more good fruit we will have to glorify God as Jesus said; "By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit; so you will be My disciples." (John 15:8) As we live as a disciple of Christ, we are filled with His Holy Spirit to comfort us and guide us. Whenever you are feeling alone or tired just look up and ask the Lord to help you, I promise you He sees you and He will come to your call. Sometimes it requires a kind of hope that we have never had before, the kind that requires knowing without seeing anything happen. Every miracle the Lord worked over someone was because they had the faith to receive it. We are called to have that same faith to receive Him when He comes again! Lets watch together and serve our God while we wait, knowing His promises are always kept. My friends, hold on to your hope. Do not let satan take it away from you. Fight the good fight of faith and wait on the Lord, for He is faithful and just.


Prayer:

Father God, my hope lies in You. Thank you for planting it in my heart. Remind me to continuely water that seed of hope in me so it will take root and bear much fruit for Your kingdom. Remind me how to live focusing on You, no matter how hard things may get. Fill me Holy Spirit and lead me in the way of everlasting. Help me to never become hopeless Jesus. I declare the devil cannot take away what You have given me. I refuse to let any circumstance deter me from my walk with You. I give praise and thanksgiving for the kindness You have shown me, for the mercy You have given me and for the love You have filled me with. In Your precious Name I pray and receive this prayer. Amen.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page