top of page

Greedy Gehazi

September 26, 2021




Then he said to him, “Did not my heart go with you when the man turned back from his chariot to meet you? Is it time to receive money and to receive clothing, olive groves and vineyards, sheep and oxen, male and female servants?

~II Kings 5:26~















Elisha was cloaked with the presence of God.

He felt the calling and was directed by the Spirit to move and speak. There are orders God will give through those He ordains to be His mouth piece. Elisha was carrying the mantle and Gehazi was a servant of his. Naaman received divine healing from leprosy through Elisha's instruction prior to this action Gehazi decided to take; "So he went down and dipped seven times in the Jordan, according to the saying of the man of God; and his flesh was restored like the flesh of a little child, and he was clean."

(II Kings 5:14)

What an interesting foreshadowing of Jesus depicted in Elisha! Do we remember the instructions Jesus gave to the blind man in order to receive his healing?

"And He said to him, “Go, wash in the pool of Siloam” (which is translated, Sent). So he went and washed, and came back seeing."

(John 9:7)

Both of these similar instructions were coming from the same Almighty Yahweh. He speaks through His own. He uses instruction as a reminder of the importance of obedience and reverence to our Lord. Naaman eventually listened and healing came to be. After Naaman's miraculous healing; which gave him not only new skin but new skin like a child, we notice Gehazi's response of disobedience. Elisha refused to take any gift from Naaman for He knew the glory did not belong to Him. As Naaman ventured out, Gehazi was about to plot his way of getting what Elisha refused. He was about to fight against God without even realizing the extent of his rebellion.

"An evil man seeks only rebellion; Therefore a cruel messenger will be sent against him."

(Proverbs 17:11)

Gehazi cared for the prized worldly possessions rather then the praise of God.

He wanted his own glory and he was willing to do whatever he wished to get it. Not only did Gehazi take on his own will, he tricked Naaman into thinking Elisha sent him to do such a thing; "he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways." (James 1:8)

Do we believe Gehazi knew the damage he would bring upon himself? The very simple fact he decided to do wrong against his own was enough for God to punish, but He waited. Gehazi took it far enough and eventually suffered curse upon himself that originally clung to Naaman. He was to be leprous. White as snow.

Do we believe God has changed? Do we really believe in these words we read about our fellow brothers? We must be careful not to get too comfortable in our sin. Jesus did not change sin, He defeated it. He did not come to make sin okay, He came to put it to death. The sin of rebellion is a very dangerous one at that. We open doors to things we would never of expected God to allow in our lives. We must remember, He never changes. He is just; "God is a just judge, And God is angry with the wicked every day." (Psalms 7:11)

Our Lord's anger never kindles against the wicked, it burns just as hot as it did with Gehazi. Do we find ourselves in a prideful state of mind, believing we deserve to take what is not ours behind closed doors? Do we act in a selfish manner, treating our own brethren in such an unclean way? Are we finding ourselves harboring bitterness or resentment for the way God has led someone else to act? We may just be dangerously close to becoming a Gehazi. Gehazi got all of the things he desired but in the end was worse off for his deceitful plans.

Lets not forget my friends, God truely does see all things. Be careful for the plans of the wicked heart. Align with the Lord and Elisha's attitude which is to do good and receive nothing back. Honor Father God and give Him glory, do not expect any for yourself. We must be humble servants rather then attempting to exalt ourselves into what we believe is holiness. The traps are set, the bait is laid out and the devil waits for us to dishonor Jesus. His heart truely goes with us wherever we go, we cannot outrun or hide from Him. If we do not believe that, well then we may very well receive that curse upon us as Gehazi did. If we believe with our whole heart, our whole mind, and our whole strength that God sees and is just; we will have far more respect for Him without pretending. It will come naturally as we really love Him and others.




Prayer:

Merciful and Just God, thank you for holding fast to Your word each day. I know You see all things done in this world, both good and evil. Search my heart O God, test me and see if there is any wicked way in me. I do not want to rebell against Your will. I pray to serve You and bring all glory to Your throne, none to myself. I could not do or say anything without You and I will not pretend that I can. For I know I curse myself if I am to go against You. Guide me, direct my steps and use my mouth for instruction. Keep me from deception Lord and if I am already deceived, show me so that I may be healed of my own uncleanness. I praise my God who never changes; who is the same yesterday, today and forever and has mercy upon me each day. For I strive to be as humble as possible and to honor Your Name. The Name of my King and Savior, Jesus Christ. Amen.

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page