top of page

Favor In The Eyes Of A Redeemer

August 30, 2021



So she fell on her face, bowed down to the ground, and said to him, “Why have I found favor in your eyes, that you should take notice of me, since I am a foreigner?” And Boaz answered and said to her, “It has been fully reported to me, all that you have done for your mother-in-law since the death of your husband, and how you have left your father and your mother and the land of your birth, and have come to a people whom you did not know before. The Lord repay your work, and a full reward be given you by the Lord God of Israel, under whose wings you have come for refuge.”

~Ruth 2:10‭-‬12~












The story of Ruth and Boaz struck me as more then just a romance. The Lord led me to this chapter today specifically to see the spiritual connections and the mirroring of Him in these two wonderful people. As I read deep into this chapter I asked Holy Spirit to open my eyes further, I longed to understand what He was showing me. I could see connections in my own life within Ruth's as I read into her sacrifice and loss. I saw the humility in this maidservant as she was willing to work the field in support of her mother in law. I saw the favor she received from God through this man Boaz who was soon to bless her with a son, of course this son would be important to the lineage.

I am beginning to see there are some interesting parallels between them and our Lord Jesus Christ.

I then felt a sudden urge to research the meaning of Boaz; what did his name specifically mean and why did it stand out to me so much? I found the meaning behind his name meant "in him is strength," or "to be strong."

As I pondered the meaning behind Boaz's name I could hear a certain verse being spoken in my spirit over and over again; "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me." (Philippians 4:13)

In Jesus we find a divine strength to keep pressing on. I also recalled the connection between favor for Ruth as a foreigner and favor for us as gentiles; "Or is He the God of the Jews only? Is He not also the God of the Gentiles? Yes, of the Gentiles also."

(Romans 3:29)

Favor was given to Ruth as she gave herself as a living sacrifice in order to do what was most loving. This was noticed by Boaz and he placed his protection upon her. Sound familiar? We serve a King who gave Himself as a living sacrifice, He planted Himself on a cross for us to be covered in His righteousness. As we follow Him whole heartedly, the Father sees Jesus in us, He favors us by His protection, keeping us under His wings; "For whoever finds me finds life, And obtains favor from the Lord."

(Proverbs 8:35)

Ruth chose to move into a town she knew nothing about, willing to lose it all, only to find out later she would gain far more then she ever expected.

"For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain."

(Philippians 1:21)

We are called into a following that may cause us to lose things, family, friends or even our own home; but with "his strength and favor" we receive back seven fold, a great reward.

Before our Lord's own coming Ruth and Boaz were already taking on the image of Christ! How beautiful! Ruth fell on her face and had reverence, calling herself a servant. Boaz was merciful and kind, protecting his beloved and honoring her humility. Two people connected in One person without even realizing it. I see Jesus in this entire story and it is breath taking. Throughout the Old Testament we can see many stories that show Christ before He is made manifest. These stories teach us how to live, how to feel connected to our spiritual ancestors, and how glorious it is to find favor in the sight of God Almighty. Ruth was rewarded for her work and she was blessed by a redeemer. As we align ourselves to God, we too are capable of finding favor in Him awaiting our reward as we are willing to do what so ever we are called to do. Let our hearts be as big as Ruth's, let our mercy be as pure as Boaz, and let each of us mirror the Lord Jesus Christ as we present our bodies to Him. For when we do, we have favor in the eyes of a Great Redeemer!





Prayer:

My dear Heavenly Father, I adore You and I adore Your Son, who gave Himself as a sacrifice for me to receive favor. Lord I receive all the work You have for me and I walk in Your strength to perform it. I can do nothing without You but with You I surely can do all things. Let Yourself be mirrored through me. I want all who come into my presence to see only You and give You all the glory. I would not be here without You. I would not have this life. I pray protection, peace and guidance as I press on. I bless fellow servants and maidservants to receive the same favor in the sight of Your eyes. May Your face shine upon them. I know I am fully protected under Your wings Father and I am honored to represent Your Son and my Redeemer, Jesus Christ. Amen.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page