top of page

Expect Nothing In Return

July 28, 2021




But love your enemies, do good, and lend, hoping for nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High. For He is kind to the unthankful and evil.

~Luke 6:35~












I remember growing up as a child I was rather greedy. I would save what money I did get from birthdays, holidays or the tooth fairy. I would despise giving any of it away or using it on anyone but myself. If I did agree to lend money to people I would arrange that they paid me back "with interest." Pretty crazy huh? A child playing bank. I of course know now that this was the wrong way to act. I certainly didn't know Jesus and I most definitely thought all I had were my possessions. After a certain time frame I would make sure to reach out for that money with interest. When I got it, it didn't actually make me feel any better. It just fed my evil way of thinking. "For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil, for which some have strayed from the faith in their greediness, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows." (I Timothy 6:10)

Now that I am saved, walking with the Lord and understanding what it is to love as God loves; I find myself not caring for money, possessions or things I once lived off for support. I also found myself no longer hating people, that goes for anyone. This was no doing of my own, this was all the grace God gave me; "For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God."

(Ephesians 2:8)

I thank Jesus everyday for what He did for me. If not for His divine appointment to grab ahold of my heart, I would still be living for things and looking down at people as I once did. I was filled with anger and the only one it hurt the most was myself, not to say I haven't hurt others along the way because I sure have. The point Jesus was making here was we are to truely love all people, for that is what God does. No matter what someone may do to us, it is not going to harm anyone but ourselves by turning them away or thinking ourselves to be "better then they are." We all have our cross to bear. We all have done things we are certainly not proud of. God gives mercy and we are to give it back, expecting nothing in return just as He expected nothing in return, aside from believing in Him. How great our reward is when we show the love of God here on earth. I know if not for those ones who knew God showing me that great example, I would of never knew what it was like to know the Lord the way I do. We shine that light in the darkness and it comprehends it not; "Unto the upright there arises light in the darkness; He is gracious, and full of compassion, and righteous." (Psalms 112:4)

I definitely couldn't comprehend it for a while but when I finally did I wanted nothing more then to share it with others.

When we know Jesus closely we feel Him closely, the love in Him increases in us and the compassion grows more towards His people. We begin to want to give everything we have and we enjoy it because that is who He is; "So let each one give as he purposes in his heart, not grudgingly or of necessity; for God loves a cheerful giver."

(II Corinthians 9:7)

Let us give to those who cannot give back. Let us pray for those who do not pray for us. Let us love those who do not know what it is to truely be loved.

For when we lead by Jesus' way, we may just lead another person to their own salvation. It can only come from God and He is within all believers. It is time to not expect anything in return and do what is right to do. I am glad I repented and put away my old ways of being greedy, it got me nowhere. Now that I can give back I feel peace like I have never felt before. God is so good to us. It's our time to be good to Him!




Prayer:

Abba Father, thank you for Your great mercy that saved me from heading into a downward spiral. If not for Your example of love, Jesus, I wouldn't even be alive today. Help me to always be a loving follower, giving all of what I have to the less fortunate and praying for those who consider themselves my enemies. Lord I want to grow in You more each day and see through the eyes of God. I am grateful for the new creation I have been made into and I value every moment I am alive. I desire to use every minute to glorify You. Praise and honor be to the King who gave us life eternal and everlasting love. I pray more people choose You. In Your Mighty Name I pray, Jesus Christ. Amen.

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page