top of page

A Lifelong Commitment

August 13, 2021




Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him, And He shall bring it to pass.

~Psalms 37:5~













Faith is something I cherish all the days I am alive. Without it I would not know how to trust and rely on God for things which are small to things which are large. Sometimes we get caught up in relying on our faith only when it seems necessary or when we are in a conversation about the Lord. The faith in which I am grateful for is the kind that speaks to Jesus in the middle of the night when nobody is watching because I know He will manifest glory to me and cherish our time together; "But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly." (Matthew 6:6)

The kind of faith where I begin to weep as I worship on my couch and spread my arms out wide for my Abba to see my appreciation for Him; "God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.” (John 4:24)

The kind which allows me to stand against my biggest foe in confidence that God will always win as I speak His word; "The Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?" (Psalms 27:1)

God is looking for His beloved, that's all of us, to take on a lifelong commitment to confide, adore, appreciate and burn with passion for all we can get of Him. We learn how to walk with Jesus here so that when we are one day called Home we can pick up where we started for all of eternity. We are to commit our ways to Him now and establish a set relationship for this is what He loves most. Our faith requires our trust in God. When we lack trust in God to fulfill our desires, our needs or to help us prevail; we end up lacking the faith which is the glue holding us together for the Kingdom; "Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen."

(Hebrews 11:1)

I can only imagine Jesus' sigh as He witnesses our struggle in this department. For faith is what God acts upon. We must begin to trust, we must begin to rely. We must commit ourselves to Jesus just as He commits Himself to us. It is the very least we can do for our Savior, wouldn't you agree? I find myself sitting with the Lord at times and His manifest presence comes into view, my hands begin to feel His touch and I start to see, hear and know Him that much more. Not everyone has the gift of seeing, so i understand if you are thinking "ok Kayla, I can't relate to that one bit." I definitely understand. I want to share the experience with you for that is why God has given me the gift to begin with. As time has gone on, as I have continued to abide in Him every moment asking from the depths of my heart for the gifts He has provided me to enhance; He has answered. His faithfulness persists and His gentleness is everlasting. The commitment we make to Him determines what we receive. The amount of time we give to Him is the amount we get back. Things in me have grown, they have prospered and has blessed me and most of all others because the Lord has made His commitment and I have made mine. I do not boast in myself, rather in my Lord. For the commitment in which I bear is a life long one, given to me by God's Son. One that will never end and this I know to be true. Let us ask ourselves truthfully, are we putting the Lord above all things? Are we going to Him in prayer first before we commit to anything else? "Now, my God, I pray, let Your eyes be open and let Your ears be attentive to the prayer made in this place." (II Chronicles 6:40)

The Lord gave His word and made His covenant, are we commiting to it with our whole heart? Perhaps we are spending our time making other commitments that are not according to His will and therefore will not benefit Heaven. The decisions we make on earth can determine how we are settled with God. For each action, each word and each task will be judged by our great God. There is surely no escaping that. Jesus is longing for our commitment to Him and His ways so that He may increase our sensitivty to His Spirit, lead us down the path of knowledge and strengthen our faith so that we always go to Him first as we set aside other things we may feel are important in that time frame. To achieve a great commitment takes great motivation and love, just as Jesus did when He paid that price. Let us receive that payment in full and begin making that true commitment to all of Him, for it surely is one that lasts a lifetime.






Prayer:

Lord God, thank you for Your great commitment You made to me when You gave Yourself at Calvary. I am grateful for the many gifts You have filled me with so that I may serve Your Kingdom efficiently and bring great glory to Your Name. I continue to pray for an increase as You are willing. I receive Your blessings, let them rain down upon my brethren as manna from heaven. Your word is sufficient enough for me and I want to always stand in faith to all things that come in front of me. Help my unbelief that I may be carrying. Any part of me that does not align to You, I want it gone. I cast it at Your feet and I desire to take a stand in this lifelong commitment with my King. Search me and try my anxieties so that I may grow accordingly. Let Your knowledge fill me and may all that I do be done by coming to You in prayer first above all. For I am commited to You, my lifelong Promise, my Lord and my God, Jesus Christ. Amen.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grafted In

By: Kayla Barton Created to know You from the beginning of time, You looked upon us saying, "You, My Beloved, are Mine." You put us to the test, planted in a well lit garden, The one You knew You woul

Unwrapped Glory

By:Kayla Barton Letting go, Restoring hope, Shining brighter, By His word spoke. Steadfast love, Unbreakable trust, The best for last, The desirable crust. A fleeting moment, A passerby, With each she

Promise

By: Kayla Barton Here I sit leaning over on the floor, Excited, expectant to what You have in store. You spoke into existence, You framed our every step, Nothing was ever lost it was in Your hands You

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page